About Us

Planning LogoOur Mission:

To build Baltimore as a diverse, sustainable and thriving city of neighborhoods and as the economic and cultural driver for the region.

The Department of Planning is the City agency entrusted with guiding the physical development of the City of Baltimore. The Department staffs three Mayoral-appointed City commissions:

  • Planning Commission
  • Commission for Historical & Architectural Preservation (CHAP)
  • Sustainability Commission

This Department of Planning has five divisions within the Department, in addition to the Office of the Director, each with its special focus in support of the mission and the Commissions we serve. Cross-division collaboration is essential to our planning work and is embedded in the Department’s culture:

  • Office of the Director
  • Office of Sustainability
  • Food Policy & Planning
  • Community Planning and Revitalization (CPR)
  • Land Use and Urban Design
  • Policy and Data Analysis
  • Historical and Architectural Preservation

Our Department is currently renewing our focus on equity, as well as public engagement. Please read about what is currently underway on the new webpage for our Equity in Planning Committee.

Our team's biographies are available on this page.


Department Brochure